# EXECUTIVE BOARD 1952 - 2012

#### **Expansion** of Full, Affiliate and Corporate Membership

- Empowerment of Regional Federations
- Focus on adding value to laboratory medicine
- Creation of Task Forces for Young Scientists, Clinical Outcomes, Point of Care Testing and Reporting of HbA1c and Cardiac Markers
- Introduction of Young Investigator award
- Adoption of differential membership fee
- Collaboration with WASPaLM and ILAC
- Design and delivery of strategic plan 2009-2011
- **Developed** a Mission Statement and Vision for IFCC
- Developed Executive meetings minutes to be sent to National **Representatives and Past-Presidents**
- Raised funds for the Visiting Lecturer Programme and for the Travel Scholarship programmes from Abbott and Roche respectively, from Siemens for a Distance Learning Programme and from Ortho Clinical Diagnostics for a biannual Conference linking the Clinical Laboratory with the Clinician
- Increased the number of Full Members
- Founded the African Federation of Clinical Chemistry and with Drs. Erasmus and Young took courses in Laboratory Quality Management to the region

#### 2009-2012 **GH BEASTALL (UK)**

2009

2012

2007

### 2006-2008 JMB HICKS (US)

2005

2003

1983





<ul> <li>Continued the use of an outstanding auditor whom she hired when Treasurer</li> <li>Ethics Task Force created</li> <li>Global Disease Campaign started</li> <li>JCTLM founded in collaboration with BIPM, CCQM, WHO, LAC, EDMA, AdvaMed and JACR</li> </ul>	200
New name - IFCC and Laboratory Medicine adopted • Communications and Publications Division created • eJIFCC launched	199
<ul> <li>Accreditaion Principle with WASPLaM published</li> <li>1<sup>st</sup> Award for Distinguished Contribution in Education made</li> <li>1<sup>st</sup> IFCC/EDMA Award for Evidence of Usefulness of Laboratory Testing made</li> </ul>	199
Technical Secretariat moved to Nancy FR (1991) • Education and Management Division created • Congress and Conference Division created	199
<ul> <li>Strategic Plan adopted</li> <li>Agreements signed with FESCC, Colabiocli and Asian</li> <li>Pacific Federation</li> <li>Agreement signed with IRMM (Reference Materials)</li> </ul>	199
<ul> <li>Agreement signed with fixture (iterefence materials)</li> <li>1<sup>st</sup> IFCC/AVL (Roche) Award for Significant Advances in Critical</li> <li>Care Testing made</li> </ul>	199
	198
New strucutre of IFCC (1987): Divisions (Scientific, Education and • Management, Communications and Publications), Committees and • Working Groups created • Corporate Member Representatives appointed to EB	198
<ul> <li>1<sup>st</sup> Master Discussion/ Conference held</li> <li>Journal of the IFCC launched</li> </ul>	198

## 2000-2005 M MÜLLER (AT) 99 97 1997-1999 MJ MCQUEEN (CA) 95 93 1991-1996 **G SIEST** (FR) 89 1985-1990 DS YOUNG (US) 85

R

**Conference** Committee created

- Visiting Lecture Programme initiated
- 1<sup>st</sup> General Conference held
- 1<sup>st</sup> Distinguished International Service Award (1990: Henry Wishinsky) Award) made
- Technical Secretariat established (1983: Copenhagen)
- Official Logo adopted

**Corporate** Membership established Scientific Committee created

WHO: IFCC became NGO • 1<sup>st</sup> Newsletter published • 1<sup>st</sup> Annual Report published • 1<sup>st</sup> Distinguish Clinical Chemist Award made • 1<sup>st</sup> Recommendation on Nomenclature published

1979-1984 R DYBKAER (DK)	1001
	1981 1979
<b>1976-1978</b> <b>J FREI</b> (CH)	1977
	1975
1967-1975 M RUBIN (US)	1973
	1971
1963-1967 JE COURTOIS (FR)	1969
JE COURTOIS (FR)	1967
	1965

**IFCC** became independent from IUPAC • Committee on Standards and Expert Panels created

**Consolidation** of IFCC

**Foundation of IFCC within IUPAC** 

1960-1963 1963 ME FREEMAN (US) 1961 1959 1952-1960 EJ KING (UK) 1957 1952

